From Saturday, December 16, 2017, daily operations on all cable cars and chair lifts at Pizol

History of the Pizolbahnen

The history of Swiss tourism, which is closely linked to the discovery and development of the Alps, started almost 200 years ago. It was during this time that the English nobility undertook more or less adventurous educational journeys in stagecoaches, which came to be known as "Grand Tours". Their trips to Mediterranean countries often went through Switzerland, and Bad Ragaz was a regular stopover for travellers.

The main reasons why these first tourists came was the opening in 1840 of the “Bad zum Hof Ragaz”, a hotel with 33 rooms and six baths. The baths were filled with 37-degree thermal water, which flowed from the Bad Pfäfers into the valley in a five-kilometre-long wooden pipe.

At the beginning of the 1850s, the Südostbahn (SOB) was founded in the “Hof Ragaz” and on 30 July 1858, the first SOB train stopped in Ragaz on its way from St.Gallen to Chur. But it was only when the railroad line Zurich - Chur opened in 1859, that Bad Ragaz started its rise in fame as an internationally renowned spa resort.

By 1900, the Pizol was already a spectacular area for hiking

The region of the Grauen Hörner with the Pizol summit was already known then as a spectacular hiking area. By 1900, the Schwarzbüel-Berghütte (1,652 m above sea level) accommodated the first tourists and mountain climbers on the Alp with the same name.

In 1915 the SAC section Piz Sol built the SAC Klubhütte by the Wangsersee (2,206 m above sea level). After a five-hour climb from Wangs or Bad Ragaz, members of the SAC could spend the night at the SAC Klubhütte near the Wangsersee for 50 cents and non-members for two Swiss francs.

In 1917 the Pizol was the most famous Swiss ski mountain

At that time, visitors also skied on the Pizol. The locals were sceptical at first. The President of the SAC section Piz Sol was still not convinced in 1903: "There are three skiers in our section, and there will probably never be any more!”

But by 1917, there was the following entry in the Yearbook of the Swiss Ski Association: “If someone were to ask which of the three most visited and longest known Swiss skiing mountains have the biggest descent, we would answer: Parsenn – Weissfluh, Piz Sol and Titlis. But the Piz Sol is king of them all with its 2,400-metre descent.”

Every year up to 20,000 skiers with seal skins under their skis climbed the 1,700 metres difference in altitude up to the Wangsersee or even 2,300 metres up to the Pizol summit– to enjoy one of the most beautiful and longest downhill runs in Europe.

The cable cars of Bad Ragaz – Pardiel and Wangs – Furt are built

After the Second World War, Europe experienced a ski boom and the first plans for developing the Pizol area with a mountain railway were created in the Sargans region. However, it did not stop at just one mountain railway. In Wangs the municipality took the initiative and in Bad Ragaz private individuals planned a cable car.

On 6 July 1951, the Federal Council issued the concessions for each of the cable cars – Furt and Bad Ragaz – Pardiel on the same day. The cantonal government of St. Gallen wanted the Sargans region to capitalise on a cable car and tried to bring the already established public companies to the table. In vain.

The gondola lift Bad Ragaz – Pardiel was opened on New Year’s day in 1954. And in the summer of 1954, the second section Maienberg – Furt was commissioned on the Wangs side first. As a transitional measure, the tourists were taken up to Maienberg by jeep until the first section from Wangs was completed.

In the years that followed, various T-bar lifts were built on both sides, but from 1965 onwards they were replaced with the modern four-seater chairlifts.

The merger creating Pizolbahnen AG

The aerial cableway of Wangs – Pizol AG (LWP) and the sports railways of Bad Ragaz AG (SBR) worked together starting in the 1990s. The joint subsidiary PIZAG organised the advertising and a ticket network. In 2000, the connecting lift Pizolhütte – Laufböden was set up, linking the two sides of Wangs and Bad Ragaz together for the first time.

However, the cantonal government of St. Gallen insisted on creating an overall concept for the Pizol. The overall concept ProRegio was presented in 2004. It consisted of a main entry route for the entire Pizol resort from Bad Ragaz to the highest common point (2,275 m above sea level) and a secondary route Wang - Furt. The overall concept ProRegio was received favourably by the cantonal government, but met with broad opposition in the Sargans region. This approach was no longer pursued.

However, in December 2005, the board of directors of the LWP, the SBR and the joint subsidiary PIZAG agreed on the overall concept of PIZOL 2010. This consisted of one company with two entry routes and separate financing. The Joint Investment Aid application of the St. Gallen cantonal government was already submitted in February 2006.

On 20 September 2006, the board of directors of the LWP, the SBR and the PIZAG signed the contracts for the transfer of assets of the chair and ski lifts to the new Pizolbahnen AG. A historic moment.

Generous investors give Pizolbahnen AG new impetus

However, the entry route Bad Ragaz – Pardiel would have failed due to the lack of money and too many objections. On 26 February 2007, the persons responsible declared at a media conference that the Pizolbahnen AG chapter had to be completed in the Sargans region.

However, in the days that followed, generous investors, did not want to watch “their” Pizolbahnen disappear from the mountain. The entrepreneurial families of Looser, Lenherr and Schmidheiny also contributed equity capital.

There was an impressive rally for Pizolbahnen on 8 March 2007 in the town hall square in Bad Ragaz. Subsequently, Pizolbahnenn AG decided to raise an initial capital increase at an extraordinary general meeting.

Milestones

1952
21 January

Founding Assembly of the Luftsbahn Wangs - Pizol AG (LWP)

1952
16 August

Founding Assembly of the mountain lifts Bad Ragaz - Piz Sol AG (later Sportbahnen Bad Ragaz SBR)

1953

Construction of the cable cars Bad Ragaz – Pardiel and Wangs – Furt

1954

Opening of the cable cars Bad Ragaz – Pardiel and Wangs – Furt

1954
to 1960

Construction of T-bar lifts on both sides

1974

Renewal of the cable cars Wangs – Furt

1991

Replacement of the Wangs ski lifts by two chair lifts

1999

The four-seater chairlift on Pardiel replaces the Laufböden lift

2000

Construction of the connecting lift Pizolhütte – Laufböden

2007

Merger between LWP and SBR to become Pizolbahnen AG

2007

New construction of the eight-seater gondola lift Bad Ragaz – Pardiel

2009

New construction of the eight-seater gondola lift Wangs – Furt

2016

Construction of the six-seater chairlift Schwamm

2016

Commissioning of the new snowmaking machine Schwamm, 1st stage

Bis 2. April 2017 Abovorverkauf mit bis 20% Rabatt. Die Tarife finden Sie unter "Planen & Buchen" "Preise & Tarife"

Geschichte der Pizolbahnen

Vor bald 200 Jahren beginnt die Geschichte des Schweizer Tourismus, die eng mit der Entdeckung und Erschliessung der Alpen verbunden ist. Zu dieser Zeit unternahm der englische Adel mit Postkutschen mehr oder weniger abenteuerliche Bildungsreisen, die als «Grand Tour» bezeichnet wurden. Diese Reisen in die mediterranen Länder führten oft durch die Schweiz, regelmässig war auch Bad Ragaz eine Station der Durchreisenden.

Anziehungspunkt dieser ersten Touristen war das 1840 eröffnete «Bad zum Hof Ragaz», ein Hotel mit 33 Zimmern und sechs Bädern. In die Bäder wurde das 37 Grad warme Thermalwasser geleitet, das über eine fünf Kilometer langen Holzteuchel-Leitung vom Bad Pfäfers ins Tal floss.

Anfangs der 1850er Jahre wurde im «Hof Ragaz» die Südostbahn (SOB) gegründet und am 30. Juli 1858 hielt der erste SOB-Zug in Ragaz auf seiner Jungfernfahrt von St.Gallen nach Chur. Aber erst als 1859 die Eisenbahnlinie Zürich – Chur eröffnet wurde, begann für Bad Ragaz der Aufstieg zum international bekannten Bade-Kurort.

Um 1900 war der Pizol schon ein spektakuläres Wandergebiet

Das Gebiet der Grauen Hörner mit dem Pizolgipfel war schon damals als spektakuläres Wandergebiet bekannt. Um 1900 bot die Schwarzbüel-Berghütte (1652 m ü. M.) auf der gleichnamigen Alp Platz für die ersten Touristen und Bergsteiger.

1915 erbaute die SAC-Sektion Piz Sol die SAC-Klubhütte beim Wangsersee (2206 m ü. M.). Nach einem fünfstündigen Aufstieg von Wangs oder Bad Ragaz her, konnten SAC-Mitglieder für 50 Rappen in der SAC-Klubhütte beim Wangsersee übernachten, Nichtmitglieder für zwei Franken.

1917 war der Pizol der bekannteste Schweizer Skiberg

Damals kam am Pizol auch das Skifahren auf. Die Einheimischen war zuerst noch skeptisch. Der Präsident der SAC-Sektion Piz Sol war im Jahr 1903 noch überzeugt: «Es sind in unserer Sektion drei Skifahrer, und es werden wahrscheinlich nie mehr werden!»

Schon 1917 stand im Jahrbuch des Schweizer Skiverbandes aber: «Wenn jemand fragt, welches die drei am meisten besuchten und am längsten bekannten Schweizer Skiberge mit der grössten Abfahrt seien, so antworten wir: Parsenn – Weissfluh, Piz Sol und Titlis. König aber ist der Piz Sol mit seiner 2400 Meter langen Abfahrt.»

Jedes Jahr stiegen bis 20’000 Skifahrer mit Seehund-Fellen unter den Skiern die 1’700 Meter Höhenunterschied bis zum Wangsersee oder gar 2300 Höhenmeter bis zum Pizolgipfel hoch – um danach eine der bis heute schönsten und längsten Abfahrten Europas zu geniessen.

Die Kabinenbahnen Bad Ragaz – Pardiel und Wangs – Furt werden gebaut

Nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg erlebte Europa einen Skiboom und im Sarganserland entstanden die ersten Pläne zur Erschliessung des Pizolgebietes mit einer Bergbahn. Es blieb allerdings nicht bei einer Bergbahn: In Wangs ergriff die Ortsgemeinde die Initiative, in Bad Ragaz planten Privatpersonen eine Kabinenbahn.

Am 6. Juli 1951 erteilte der Bundesrat am gleichen Tag die Konzessionen für je eine Kabinenbahn Wangs – Furt und Bad Ragaz – Pardiel. Die St.Galler Kantonsregierung wollte, dass sich das Sarganserland auf eine Kabinenbahn konzentriert und versuchte, die bereits gegründeten Aktiengesellschaften an einen Tisch zu bringen. Vergeblich.

Am Neujahrstag 1954 wurde die Gondelbahn Bad Ragaz – Pardiel eröffnet. Und im Sommer 1954 nahm auf Wangser Seite zuerst die zweite Sektion Maienberg – Furt den Betrieb auf. Als Übergangslösung, bis die erste Sektion ab Wangs fertig gebaut war, wurden die Touristen mit einem Jeep zum Maienberg hoch gefahren.

In den Folgejahren baute man auf beiden Seiten verschiedene Schlepplifte, die jedoch ab 1965 durch damals moderne Vierer-Sesselbahnen ersetzt wurden.

Der Zusammenschluss zur Pizolbahnen AG

Ab den 1990er-Jahren arbeiteten die Luftseilbahn Wangs – Pizol AG (LWP) und die Sportbahnen Bad Ragaz AG (SBR) zusammen. Die gemeinsame Tochtergesellschaft PIZAG organisierte die Werbung und einen Billettverbund. Im Jahre 2000 wurde der Verbindungslift Pizolhütte – Laufböden erstellt, mit dem die Seiten Wangs und Bad Ragaz erstmals miteinander verbunden wurden.

Die St.Galler Kantonsregierung bestande aber auf ein Gesamtkonzept für den Pizol. 2004 wurde das Gesamtkonzept ProRegio präsentiert: Ein Hauptzubringer für das gesamte Pizolgebiet von Bad Ragaz auf den höchsten gemeinsamen Punkt (2’275 m ü. M.) und ein Nebenzubringer Wangs – Furt. Das Gesamtkonzept ProRegio erhielt den Beifall der Kantonsregierung – und stiess auf breite Ablehnung im Sarganserland. Es wurde nicht mehr weiterverfolgt.

Im Dezember 2005 einigten sich aber die Verwaltungsräte der LWP, der SBR und der gemeinsamen Tochtergesellschaft PIZAG auf das Gesamtkonzept PIZOL 2010: Eine Gesellschaft mit zwei Zubringern und einer getrennten Finanzierung. Schon im Februar 2006 wurde das gemeinsame Investitionshilfegesuch der St.Galler Kantonsregierung eingereicht.

Am 20. September 2006 unterzeichneten die Verwaltungsräte der LWP, der SBR und der PIZAG die Verträge über die Vermögensübertragung der Sessel- und Skilifte auf die neue Pizolbahnen AG. Ein historisches Ereignis.

Grosszügige Investoren geben der Pizolbahnen AG neuen Schwung

Der Zubringer Bad Ragaz – Pardiel wäre aber beinahe an zu wenig Geld und zu viel Einsprachen gescheitert. Am 26. Februar 2007 erklärten die Verantwortlichen an einer Medienkonferenz, dass das Kapitel Pizolbahnen AG im Sarganserland abgeschlossen werden müsse.

In den Tagen danach meldeten sich aber grosszügige Investoren, welche nicht zuschauen wollten, wie «ihre» Pizolbahnen vom Berg verschwinden: Die Unternehmer Leo und Alex Looser, Edgar Oehler, Peter Eggenberger, Thomas Schmidheiny, Willy Kissling sowie Markus und Hugo Looser schossen zusätzlich 6 Mio. Franken Aktienkapital ein.

Am 8. März 2007 fand auf dem Rathausplatz in Bad Ragaz eine eindrückliche Kundgebung für die Pizolbahnen statt. Anschliessend beschloss die Pizolbahnen AG an einer ausserordentlichen Generalversammlung eine erste Kapitalaufstockung.

Meilensteine

1952
21. Januar

Gründungsversammlung der Luftseilbahn Wangs – Pizol AG (LWP)

1952
16. August

Gründungsversammlung der Bergbahnen Bad Ragaz – Piz Sol AG (später Sportbahnen Bad Ragaz SBR)

1953

Bau der Kabinenbahnen Bad Ragaz – Pardiel und Wangs – Furt

1954

Eröffnung der Kabinenbahnen Bad Ragaz – Pardiel und Wangs – Furt

1954
bis 1960

Bau der Schlepplifte auf beiden Seiten

1974

Erneuerung der Kabinenbahn Wangs – Furt

1991

Ersatz der Wangser Skilifte durch zwei Sesselbahnen

1999

Die Vierer-Sesselbahn auf Pardiel ersetzt den Laufbödenlift

2000

Bau Verbindungslift Pizolhütte – Laufböden

2007

Fusion von LWP und SBR zur Pizolbahnen AG

2007

Neubau der Achter-Gondelbahn Bad Ragaz – Pardiel

2009

Neubau der Achter-Gondelbahn Wangs – Furt

2016

Neubau der Sechser-Sesselbahn Schwamm

2016

Inbetriebnahme der neuen Beschneiung Schwamm, 1. Etappe